< Learn IT & Cybersecurity

FAQs About CompTIA

This FAQ covers the details about CompTIA exams.

What are CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, CySA+, and Linux+ certifications?

  • CompTIA A+ is an entry-level certification for IT technicians, covering a broad range of hardware and software technologies, but not in-depth.
  • CompTIA Network+ focuses on foundational networking knowledge including troubleshooting, configuring, and managing networks.
  • CompTIA Security+ certifies baseline cybersecurity skills necessary to perform core security functions.
  • CompTIA CySA+ (Cybersecurity Analyst) emphasizes cybersecurity analyst skills, particularly in threat detection, analysis, and response.
  • CompTIA Linux+ validates the competencies required of an early career system administrator supporting Linux systems.

Who should take these exams?

  • CompTIA A+: Individuals beginning their IT career, particularly in technical support and IT operational roles.
  • CompTIA Network+: Those looking to establish a career in IT infrastructure focusing on networking.
  • CompTIA Security+: IT professionals aiming to work in roles focused on security tasks.
  • CompTIA CySA+: Security analysts, operation center analysts, vulnerability analysts, cybersecurity specialists, and threat intelligence analysts.
  • CompTIA Linux+: IT professionals working in Linux administration, looking to validate their Linux system administration skills.

What prerequisites are required for these exams?

  • CompTIA A+: None officially, but 9 to 12 months of experience in IT is recommended.
  • CompTIA Network+: CompTIA A+ certification or equivalent knowledge, plus 9-12 months of networking experience.
  • CompTIA Security+: CompTIA Network+ and two years of experience in IT administration with a security focus.
  • CompTIA CySA+: Network+, Security+ or equivalent knowledge. At least 3-4 years of hands-on information security or related experience.
  • CompTIA Linux+: No formal prerequisites, but CompTIA recommends 12 months of Linux admin experience.

How long are the exams, and what types of questions are included?

  • CompTIA A+: Two exams, 90 minutes each, with multiple-choice, drag-and-drop, and performance-based questions.
  • CompTIA Network+ & Security+: One exam each, 90 minutes, up to 90 questions including multiple-choice, performance-based, and drag-and-drop.
  • CompTIA CySA+: One exam, 165 minutes, maximum of 85 questions, including multiple-choice and performance-based.
  • CompTIA Linux+: One exam, 90 minutes, up to 90 multiple-choice and performance-based questions.

What topics are covered on these exams?

  • CompTIA A+: Hardware, networking, mobile devices, Windows operating system, software troubleshooting, security, and operational procedures.
  • CompTIA Network+: Networking concepts, infrastructure, network operations, network security, and network troubleshooting.
  • CompTIA Security+: Threats, attacks, and vulnerabilities, technologies and tools, architecture and design, identity and access management, risk management, and cryptography.
  • CompTIA CySA+: Threat and vulnerability management, software and systems security, compliance and assessment, security operations and monitoring, incident response.
  • CompTIA Linux+: Linux command line, basic maintenance, installing and configuring workstations, and networking.

How do I register for the exams?

  • Register through the Pearson VUE website, where you can create an account, select the exam, and choose a testing location and time.

What is the passing score for these exams?

  • CompTIA A+: 675 (220-1001) and 700 (220-1002) on a scale of 100-900.
  • CompTIA Network+: 720 on a scale of 100-900.
  • CompTIA Security+: 750 on a scale of 100-900.
  • CompTIA CySA+: 750 on a scale of 100-900.
  • CompTIA Linux+: 720 on a scale of 100-900.

How much do the exams cost?

  • Exam fees vary by certification and location. As of the last update, A+ exams are around $232 each, Network+ is about $338, Security+ costs approximately $370, CySA+ is around $370, and Linux+ is also about $370. Prices are subject to change, so it’s advisable to check the CompTIA website or Pearson VUE for the most current pricing.

How can I prepare for these exams?

  • Study Materials: CompTIA offers official study guides, video training, and practice questions. Third-party resources are also available.
  • Practice Exams: Practice exams can help familiarize you with the exam format and question types
  • Training Courses: Instructor-led training courses and online courses are available for those who prefer structured learning environments.

How long is the certification valid, and how can I renew it?

  • CompTIA certifications are valid for three years. You can renew them through the CompTIA Continuing Education (CE) program by earning CE credits, participating in specific training programs, or passing a higher-level CompTIA certification exam.
Scroll to Top